418 694 2009
Close mobile menu

ISiskinds LLP représente le demandeur dans l’action collective intentée contre Imperial Metals Corporation (« Imperial ») et certains de ses administrateurs, dirigeants et parties liées à la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario.

L’action collective proposée est introduite au nom de toutes les personnes et entités, quel que soit le lieu de leur résidence, ayant acquis des actions ou des billets de l’Imperial entre le 15 août 2011 et le 4 août 2014 et qui sont toujours détentrices de la totalité ou d’une partie de ces titres depuis le 5 août 2014. Certaines personnes affiliées aux défenderesses sont exclues de cette action collective.

Le recours concerne les circonstances entourant la défaillance, survenue le 4 août 2014, des installations d’entreposage des résidus à la mine d’or et de cuivre Mount Polley de l’Imperial, située près de Likely, en Colombie-Britannique.

FAQs

En quoi consiste une action collective?

Une action collective est une procédure judiciaire qui est déposée par une ou plusieurs personnes au nom d’un groupe plus étendu de personnes dont les réclamations soulèvent des questions de fait ou de droit communes. Les actions collectives fournissent un moyen plus économique pour un groupe d’individus ayant des intérêts communs de faire valoir leurs réclamations.

Qui est visé par l'action collective relative à Imperial Metals Corporation?

Vous êtes visé par le recours collectif et vous êtes « membre » du groupe si vous avez acquis des actions ordinaires ou d’autres titres de l’Imperial entre le 15 août 2011 et le 4 août 2014 et si vous êtes toujours détenteur de la totalité ou d’une partie de ces titres depuis le 5 août 2014.

Dois-je payer des frais pour participer à l'action collective?

Les Avocats du groupe sont habituellement payés sur une base d’honoraires conditionnels. Cela signifie que les Avocats du groupe ne seront payés que s’ils réussissent dans leur recours. Les Avocats du groupe sont payés sur la base d’un pourcentage prélevé à même les indemnités payables aux membres du groupe. Les honoraires des Avocats du groupe doivent être soumis à l’approbation préalable du tribunal.  

Que signifie la « certification »?

La certification (ou autorisation) est accordée par un jugement au sein duquel la Cour détermine si le litige sera institué en tant qu'action collective, et ce, suite à une demande en certification. La Cour prend en considération des facteurs tels que si les réclamations des membres du groupe soulèvent des questions de fait ou de droit communes et si une action collective sera le meilleur moyen de poursuivre ces réclamations (par rapport à d’autres moyens, tels que les recours individuels).

Puis-je me joindre à l'action collective?

Il n’y a pas d’étape à suivre pour joindre l'action collective. Si vous entrez dans la définition du groupe, vous faites automatiquement partie de l'action collective, sauf si vous déposez une demande d’exclusion.

Puis-je m'exclure de L'action collective?

Oui. Une fois que l'action collective est certifiée, vous aurez l’opportunité de vous exclure. Si vous vous excluez, vous ne pourrez recevoir aucune compensation attribuée en vertu d’un règlement à l’amiable ou d’un jugement du tribunal. Vous pourrez cependant entreprendre votre propre recours sur une base individuelle. En règle générale, vous envisagerez de vous exclure d’une action collective si vous avez l’intention d’intenter un recours personnellement. Dans la majorité des cas, il sera plus économique de participer à l'action collective, car les frais légaux seront répartis sur un très grand nombre de personnes.

Que dois-je faire pour protéger mes droits?

Afin de protéger vos droits, vous devriez:

  1. Conserver un dossier pour tous les achats et ventes d’actions ordinaires ou d’autres titres d’Imperial entre le 15 août 2011 et le 4 août 2014.
  2. Pendant l'action collective, des avis seront diffusés aux membres du groupe les informant qu’ils doivent entreprendre certaines démarches à l’intérieur de délais spécifiques afin de préserver leurs droits. Ces informations seront également disponibles sur le site Internet de Siskinds. Ces dates limites sont généralement fixées par les tribunaux et devront être respectées afin de protéger vos droits.
  3. Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir les mises à jour en complétez le formulaire ci-après. En soumettant vos informations à Siskinds, vous ne retenez pas les services de Siskinds à titre de procureurs, et n’encourrez aucun frais en rapport avec cette action collective.

J’ai encore une question. Qui dois-je contacter?

Si vous avez des questions supplémentaires, complétez le formulaire ci-après.

En quoi consiste une action collective?

Une action collective est une procédure judiciaire qui est déposée par une ou plusieurs personnes au nom d’un groupe plus étendu de personnes dont les réclamations soulèvent des questions de fait ou de droit communes. Les actions collectives fournissent un moyen plus économique pour un groupe d’individus ayant des intérêts communs de faire valoir leurs réclamations.

Qui est visé par l'action collective relative à Imperial Metals Corporation?

Vous êtes visé par le recours collectif et vous êtes « membre » du groupe si vous avez acquis des actions ordinaires ou d’autres titres de l’Imperial entre le 15 août 2011 et le 4 août 2014 et si vous êtes toujours détenteur de la totalité ou d’une partie de ces titres depuis le 5 août 2014.

Dois-je payer des frais pour participer à l'action collective?

Les Avocats du groupe sont habituellement payés sur une base d’honoraires conditionnels. Cela signifie que les Avocats du groupe ne seront payés que s’ils réussissent dans leur recours. Les Avocats du groupe sont payés sur la base d’un pourcentage prélevé à même les indemnités payables aux membres du groupe. Les honoraires des Avocats du groupe doivent être soumis à l’approbation préalable du tribunal.  

Que signifie la « certification »?

La certification (ou autorisation) est accordée par un jugement au sein duquel la Cour détermine si le litige sera institué en tant qu'action collective, et ce, suite à une demande en certification. La Cour prend en considération des facteurs tels que si les réclamations des membres du groupe soulèvent des questions de fait ou de droit communes et si une action collective sera le meilleur moyen de poursuivre ces réclamations (par rapport à d’autres moyens, tels que les recours individuels).

Puis-je me joindre à l'action collective?

Il n’y a pas d’étape à suivre pour joindre l'action collective. Si vous entrez dans la définition du groupe, vous faites automatiquement partie de l'action collective, sauf si vous déposez une demande d’exclusion.

Puis-je m'exclure de L'action collective?

Oui. Une fois que l'action collective est certifiée, vous aurez l’opportunité de vous exclure. Si vous vous excluez, vous ne pourrez recevoir aucune compensation attribuée en vertu d’un règlement à l’amiable ou d’un jugement du tribunal. Vous pourrez cependant entreprendre votre propre recours sur une base individuelle. En règle générale, vous envisagerez de vous exclure d’une action collective si vous avez l’intention d’intenter un recours personnellement. Dans la majorité des cas, il sera plus économique de participer à l'action collective, car les frais légaux seront répartis sur un très grand nombre de personnes.

Que dois-je faire pour protéger mes droits?

Afin de protéger vos droits, vous devriez:

  1. Conserver un dossier pour tous les achats et ventes d’actions ordinaires ou d’autres titres d’Imperial entre le 15 août 2011 et le 4 août 2014.
  2. Pendant l'action collective, des avis seront diffusés aux membres du groupe les informant qu’ils doivent entreprendre certaines démarches à l’intérieur de délais spécifiques afin de préserver leurs droits. Ces informations seront également disponibles sur le site Internet de Siskinds. Ces dates limites sont généralement fixées par les tribunaux et devront être respectées afin de protéger vos droits.
  3. Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir les mises à jour en complétez le formulaire ci-après. En soumettant vos informations à Siskinds, vous ne retenez pas les services de Siskinds à titre de procureurs, et n’encourrez aucun frais en rapport avec cette action collective.

J’ai encore une question. Qui dois-je contacter?

Si vous avez des questions supplémentaires, complétez le formulaire ci-après.

Contact Us

There Was An Error

519 672 2121
519 672 2121
Close mobile menu

Siskinds LLP represents the plaintiff in a proposed class action against Imperial Metals Corporation (“Imperial”) and certain of its directors, officers and related parties in the Ontario Superior Court of Justice.

The proposed class action is brought on behalf of all persons and entities, wherever they may reside, who acquired Imperial’s shares or notes between August 15, 2011 and August 4, 2014, and continued to hold some or all of those securities as of August 5, 2014. Certain persons affiliated with the defendants are excluded from this proposed class action.

The action relates to the circumstances surrounding the failure of the tailings storage facility at Imperial’s Mount Polley gold and copper mine near Likely, British Columbia on August 4, 2014.

FAQs

What is a Class Action?

A class action is a lawsuit that is brought by one or more persons on behalf of a larger group of people whose claims share common legal and/or factual issues. Such people are commonly referenced as “class members.” Class actions provide a cost-effective way for groups of people with common interests to pursue a legal claim.

Who is affected by the Imperial class action?

You are affected by this class action and will be a “member” of the class if you acquired Imperial’s common shares or other securities between August 15, 2011 and August 4, 2014, and continued to hold some or all of those securities as of August 5, 2014.

Do I have to pay anything to participate in the class action?

No. Class members do not incur costs in connection with the class action. Class action lawyers are usually paid on a contingency basis. This means that class counsel are only paid if successful. Class counsel are paid a percentage of any settlement or court award. Class counsel fees are subject to court approval.

What does “certification” mean?

Certification is the motion where the court determines whether the action can properly be pursued as a class action on behalf of the class members. In certifying the lawsuit as a class action, the court will consider factors such as whether the claims of the class members raise common legal and/or factual issues and whether a class action is the preferable method of pursuing the claims (as opposed to other methods, such as individual actions). After the court certifies the lawsuit as a class action, usually notices will be disseminated to the class members. These notices will advise the class members that the lawsuit has been certified, and they will also set out the issues that the court will be asked to determine on behalf of the class members. At this stage, the court will also fix a time period during which the class members may exclude themselves from the class action lawsuit by filing an opt-out form. Class members who do not opt from the class action by the deadline that will be fixed by the court will be bound by the outcome of the class action.

How can I join the class action?

There are no steps required to “join” this class action. Assuming you fall within the scope of the class definition, you would be automatically included in the class action unless you “opt out” (exclude yourself from the class action) after the lawsuit has been certified as a class action. Notices will be issued to the affected persons after the court certifies the class action.

Can I exclude myself from the class action?

Yes. After the class action is certified, you will be given an opportunity to opt out (exclude yourself from the class action). If you opt out, you will not be able to participate in any settlement or court award achieved in the class action, but you may be able to pursue your claim on an individual basis. Generally speaking, the class members would only want to opt out of a class action if they intend to bring individual litigation. In most circumstances, it is more cost effective to participate in a class action because the legal costs are spread over a large number of people, making it more economic for any individual class member to obtain relief.

What should I do to protect my rights?

To protect your rights, you should:

  1. Keep records of any purchases and sales of the common shares or other securities of Imperial between August 15, 2011 and August 4, 2014.
  2. While the class action is pending, notices will be disseminated to the class members advising that they should take certain steps by specific deadlines in order to preserve their rights. This information will also be made available on Siskinds’ website. These deadlines will usually be fixed by the courts, and will need to be adhered with in order to protect your rights.
  3. Register to receive updates on this case by filling out the form below. By submitting your information to Siskinds you do not retain Siskinds as your lawyers, nor do you incur costs in connection with this class action.

I still have a question. Who should I contact?

If you have any other questions, please complete the contact form below.

What is a Class Action?

A class action is a lawsuit that is brought by one or more persons on behalf of a larger group of people whose claims share common legal and/or factual issues. Such people are commonly referenced as “class members.” Class actions provide a cost-effective way for groups of people with common interests to pursue a legal claim.

Who is affected by the Imperial class action?

You are affected by this class action and will be a “member” of the class if you acquired Imperial’s common shares or other securities between August 15, 2011 and August 4, 2014, and continued to hold some or all of those securities as of August 5, 2014.

Do I have to pay anything to participate in the class action?

No. Class members do not incur costs in connection with the class action. Class action lawyers are usually paid on a contingency basis. This means that class counsel are only paid if successful. Class counsel are paid a percentage of any settlement or court award. Class counsel fees are subject to court approval.

What does “certification” mean?

Certification is the motion where the court determines whether the action can properly be pursued as a class action on behalf of the class members. In certifying the lawsuit as a class action, the court will consider factors such as whether the claims of the class members raise common legal and/or factual issues and whether a class action is the preferable method of pursuing the claims (as opposed to other methods, such as individual actions). After the court certifies the lawsuit as a class action, usually notices will be disseminated to the class members. These notices will advise the class members that the lawsuit has been certified, and they will also set out the issues that the court will be asked to determine on behalf of the class members. At this stage, the court will also fix a time period during which the class members may exclude themselves from the class action lawsuit by filing an opt-out form. Class members who do not opt from the class action by the deadline that will be fixed by the court will be bound by the outcome of the class action.

How can I join the class action?

There are no steps required to “join” this class action. Assuming you fall within the scope of the class definition, you would be automatically included in the class action unless you “opt out” (exclude yourself from the class action) after the lawsuit has been certified as a class action. Notices will be issued to the affected persons after the court certifies the class action.

Can I exclude myself from the class action?

Yes. After the class action is certified, you will be given an opportunity to opt out (exclude yourself from the class action). If you opt out, you will not be able to participate in any settlement or court award achieved in the class action, but you may be able to pursue your claim on an individual basis. Generally speaking, the class members would only want to opt out of a class action if they intend to bring individual litigation. In most circumstances, it is more cost effective to participate in a class action because the legal costs are spread over a large number of people, making it more economic for any individual class member to obtain relief.

What should I do to protect my rights?

To protect your rights, you should:

  1. Keep records of any purchases and sales of the common shares or other securities of Imperial between August 15, 2011 and August 4, 2014.
  2. While the class action is pending, notices will be disseminated to the class members advising that they should take certain steps by specific deadlines in order to preserve their rights. This information will also be made available on Siskinds’ website. These deadlines will usually be fixed by the courts, and will need to be adhered with in order to protect your rights.
  3. Register to receive updates on this case by filling out the form below. By submitting your information to Siskinds you do not retain Siskinds as your lawyers, nor do you incur costs in connection with this class action.

I still have a question. Who should I contact?

If you have any other questions, please complete the contact form below.

Contact Us

There Was An Error