519 672 2121
Close mobile menu

Canadian Lawyer Magazine announced Siskinds LLP’s class action team as one of five recipients for the 2021 Excellence Awardees in the category of Class Action Team of the Year.

Key Media · Canadian Lawyer Magazine · Posted: March 16, 2021

The Excellence Awardees for the Canadian Law Awards in the Case, In-House, Firm and Legal Profession categories have now been announced.

Hundreds of submissions from firms and legal departments across Canada were received during the recent nomination phase.  Excellence Awardees were determined via a rigorous, expert-informed process. The Canadian Law Awards editorial and research teams reviewed all the submissions and consulted third-party information to identify each category’s standouts. These successful submissions will be sent to the extensive independent external judging panel which will score the nominations against the criteria. Through an aggregation of judges’ scoring, a Gold Winner will be chosen from each category, a process which is independently verified through an audit by PwC.

On April 2, the Excellence Awardees for the Female Trailblazer category will be announced.

Following that, on April 16, the Excellence Awardees for all Deal Award categories will be announced.

The Excellence Awardees are listed here and are as follows:

Case Categories

Class Action Team of the Year

Auger Garnier Frédérick, BGA Avocats, McCarthy Tétrault LLP – Brousseau v. Abbott Laboratories (Biaxin)

Bennett Jones LLP – Winder v. Marriott International Inc.

Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (BLG) – Fortin v. Mazda Canada inc.

Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (BLG), Eric K. Gillespie, Murray Klippenstein and Kathleen Coulter – Good v. Toronto Police Services Board

Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP, Shook Hardy & Bacon LLP, Siskinds LLP – Boston Scientific Pelvic Mesh Class Action

Read the full article here.